Blog

Holding hands in the rain–clinging to Jesus

My earworm song for the past week has been “Our July In The Rain” by a little-known acoustic duo called He Is We. It begins:

Bring me back to holding hands in the rain

This line struck me while I was in worship three weeks ago. It came right to my mind as I was thinking about how little I have control over my life. This line became a plea to God to remind me that all I have to cling to is him when life gets rocky, stormy, or unbelievably joyful.

He alone is constant.

I think it’s time for the church to go back to a life of trusting God in everything. We cling to him because that is truly all we have. Forget money. Success. Popularity. Appearance. Acceptance. You name it, it’s not worth anything in comparison to Christ.

“I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ and be found in him.” Philippians 3:8

Check out this sermon jam. It’s John Piper and it sums everything up pretty well: 

6 thoughts on “Holding hands in the rain–clinging to Jesus

  1. This is SO hard to do, but at the same time, it’s SO true. Our American obsession with independence makes us fight to be in control of our lives. It’s only when we relinquish that to God that we will depend on him. Thanks for sharing this!

  2. You just remind me of the words Trust in the Lord lean not on your own understanding. Thanks for the challenge; we need to go back to trusting God.

  3. Great article! I just didn’t feel a strong connection between the line of the song and the conclusion that we should consider everything loss for the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ.

  4. I love this reminder to cling to God through everything. We really do not have any control of our lives so we need to cling to the One who does. God is constant. Through the good and bad times, He is there. Nothing of this world lasts or will truly satisfy us. I’ve been really overwhelmed with my schedule this week, so this was a great reminder to hold on to Him.

  5. I like this post, Zoey. It was short and sweet, but you made your point clear and you know the direction you want to go. It is a relief to come across this blog post and be reminded about God’s faithfulness.

Leave a Reply

